Travancore State Congress, led by Pattom Thanu Pillai, T.M. Verghese and C. Kesavan came to power on March 14, 1948. Pattom Thanu Pillai was the Chief Minister (then it was known as Prime Minister), and T.M. Verghese and C. Kesavan ministers. Health, Labour, Forest and Local Administration were the portfolios handled by C. Kesavan. The first popular ministry resigned on October 22, 1948.